可持續發展

向非法野生動物貿易說不

我們的《支持可持續發展貨運政策》

隨著世界各地的聯繫越發緊密,無論是探訪海外的朋友和家人、去探索新的國家和文化,又或是從世界任何地方發送和接收貨物,從未變得如此簡單。然而,「全球一體化」亦有著黑暗的一面。例如,犯罪網絡可利用高效率和可負擔的航空運輸進行他們的非法活動。

非法野生動物貿易是全球第四大非法貿易,每年交易總額超過 1500億美元,僅次於走私毒品、軍火和人口販賣的金額。你可能聽說過象牙販運,但是你知道每年大約有2萬隻非洲大象遭捕殺以取得象牙嗎?這意味著每25分鐘就有一隻大象因象牙而死!

2018年的一項研究發現,中國是非法野生動物產品的首選目的地,當中的產品包括象牙、犀牛角、穿山甲、老虎等。而香港作為中國的主要貿易樞紐,亦站在處理這一問題的最前線。

因此,國泰航空聯同其他航空公司、非政府組織、政府當局和其他主要持份者的力量,阻止非法販運野生動物。2016年,我們簽署了野生動物保護聯盟運輸專責小組的《白金漢宮宣言》,該宣言由發起至今已有100多位簽署者。我們承諾不故意促進或容忍運輸非法野生動物產品,亦即是違反《瀕危野生動植物物種國際貿易公約》(CITES)的產品。我們已實施獸獵戰利品(自2015年起)、象牙和鯊魚翅(自2016年起)等產品的禁運。

我們亦通過員工培訓、技術升級及與全球其他公司和組織共享信息和資源,履行我們的承諾。我們於2017年發佈了《支持可持續發展貨運政策》。目前,我們正針對那些通過我們收集貨物後分發至後續地點的代理商進行風險分析。同時,我們亦持續改進香港貨運業的篩选和標籤流程。

環境; 生物多樣性; 貨運

Sustainable Development

Taking a stand against illegal wildlife trade

Our Sustainable Development Cargo Carriage Policy

Our world is becoming increasingly connected. It has never been easier to visit friends and family overseas, explore new countries and cultures, and send and receive goods from just about anywhere in the world. But this connectivity has a dark side. Criminal networks are taking advantage of efficient and affordable air transport to aide their illegal activities.

Illegal wildlife trade is the fourth most lucrative black market globally after drugs, arms and human trafficking – raking in as much as US$150 billion per year. You’ve probably heard about ivory trafficking, but did you know that around 20,000 African elephants are killed every year for their tusks? That’s one every 25 minutes!

A 2018 study found that China is the number 1 destination for illegal wildlife products, including ivory, rhino horn, pangolin, tiger and others. Hong Kong is a major trade hub for China and is thus on the frontlines when dealing with this issue.

That’s why Cathay Pacific has joined forces with other airlines, NGOs, government authorities and key players to stop wildlife trafficking. In 2016, we signed the United for Wildlife Transport Taskforce Buckingham Palace Declaration, which now has more than 100 signatories. We have committed that we will not knowingly facilitate or tolerate the carriage of illegal wildlife products, meaning those that contravene the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wildlife Fauna and Flora (CITES). We have also banned the carriage of all ivory and shark fin products (since 2016) and hunting trophies (since 2015) on our flights.

Our commitment also includes ensuring we train our employees, upgrade our technology, share information and resources with other companies and organisations globally. In 2017 we launched our Sustainable Development Cargo Carriage Policy, and are in the process of rolling out risk profiling of agents who collect goods from us for distribution to onward locations, and improving the screening and labelling processes across the cargo industry in Hong Kong.

We’ve banned the transportation of ivory to help protect charismatic animals like the African elephant.