可持續發展

國泰航空訂立於2022年底前減塑50%的目標

即在營運中每年減少近2億件單次使用塑膠製品

為幫助解決塑膠污染問題,我們將在2022年年底減少50%單次使用塑膠(single-use plastic)的用量,這意味著我們將於營運中移除近2億件單次使用塑膠製品。我們亦將繼續審查營運中的其他單次使用塑膠,探索可能的替代品。

塑膠的作用

由於塑膠輕且成本低,在航空業內被廣泛使用。減輕重量可以降低我們的燃料消耗並減少我們的碳足跡,低成本則有助於控制票價。

減塑的挑戰

減塑工作要權衡許多不同因素,以確保相關改變不會造成其他可持續性問題。我們正在尋找各種符合顧客期望,又具備輕和低成本等好處的環保解決方案。

迄今的進程

我們的可持續發展之旅始於20多年前,當時我們開始於經濟客艙使用可重用塑膠餐具,這些餐具經回收﹑清洗及消毒得以重新使用。而我們在2007年推出的機上回收計劃仍不斷強化。

國泰航空顧客董事羅世民(Simon Large)這樣形容我們的方針:「我們非常重視可持續發展和顧客的舒適度。我們將持續審視營運的各個細節,以確保任何改變都能滿足這兩方面的訴求。」

現時我們的頭等艙和商務艙已採用更環保的枕頭套和被套,並以可重複使用的布袋包裝。自2019年以來,我們已減少使用3200萬件塑膠吸管﹑攪拌棒和其他塑膠製品。我們將於2020年底前在航班上轉以紙杯提供非酒精飲料,取代集團塑膠製品中消耗最大的塑膠杯,同時亦將以木牙籤代替塑膠牙籤。

我們也在研究多用再生塑膠而非原始塑膠製成的產品來實踐循環經濟。現時在經濟艙採用的毛毯和地毯便是以再生材料製成。我們將繼續探索把再生塑膠用於其他物品的可能。我們亦正重新設計餐具,在這過程中將與供應商合作,尋求塑膠的替代品。

顧客的支持

許多顧客都樂見我們因應環保所作的改變,這讓我們的工作事半功倍。例如現時有不少乘客在登機時都帶上自己的水樽,並在旅程中重覆使用飲品杯,為環保出一分力。

我們的承諾

我們的業務規模因受COVID-19疫情影響收縮,塑膠製品的使用量亦因而大幅減少,但我們仍致力繼續研究在營運各方面提升環保表現的機會。我們希望在2022年底前業務規模將逐步回到疫情前的水平,而我們的單性使用塑膠使用量仍可以減半。我們希望以上工作能幫助我們達成最終目標:保護地球美麗的環境,讓下一代能跟我們一樣享受旅行觀光的快樂。

Sustainable Development

Cathay Pacific to eliminate 50% of single-use plastics by the end of 2022

It means removing nearly 200 million pieces from annual usage 

To tackle the waste problem of single-use plastics, we set the target to cut our usage by 50% by the end of 2022. And while we’re removing nearly 200 million individual items, we will be reviewing all the single-use plastics in our operations and exploring alternatives.

The role of plastics

The use of plastics in the aviation industry has been so widespread because of their light weight and low cost. Saving weight lowers our fuel consumption and reduces our carbon footprint. Low cost helps us control passenger fares.

The challenge

Reducing single-use plastics means weighing many different factors to ensure we are not creating other sustainability issues when we do. To maintain the benefits of light weight and low cost, we are looking at a variety of eco-friendly solutions that can still meet the expectations of our passengers.

Our efforts to date

Our sustainability journey began more than 20 years ago in Economy Class, when we began using rotatable plastic cutlery that was washed, sterilised and reused many times. And the inflight recycling programme we introduced in 2007 is still going strong.

Simon Large, Director Customer of Cathay Pacific, describes our approach this way: “We are committed to environmental sustainability and passenger comfort – we will always assess every aspect of our operations to ensure our changes are in the best interests of both.”

We sustainably source our First and Business Class pillowcases and duvet covers and have them delivered in reusable bags. We have removed 32 million plastic straws, stirrers and other plastic products since 2019, and by the end of 2020, we will replace plastic cups – our biggest single-use plastics by volume – with paper cups for non-alcoholic drinks, and will use wooden toothpicks to replace plastic toothpicks.

We are also looking at ways to move towards a more circular economy by increasing the use of products made from recycled rather than virgin plastic. Our Economy Class blankets and carpets are made of recycled materials, and we will be exploring the use of recycled plastics for other items. We are redesigning our cutlery, a process we’ve already begun, and will continue to work with our suppliers to create alternatives for plastics.

Our passengers are with us on this journey

Our job is made easier because many of our passengers are welcoming the changes. We’re seeing people bringing their own water bottles they’ve filled before boarding, and using a single plastic cup throughout their entire flight.

Our commitment

While the current level of plastic item consumption is significantly lowered because of our reduced operation scale amid COVID-19 impacts, we are committed to our continued effort to exploring every aspect of what we do in order to minimize our environmental impact. We hope that by the end of 2022 our business scale will be more or less back to pre-COVID-19 levels and that our number of single use plastic items could still be halved. We see every solution as part of one goal: to care for our planet so that future generations can experience the same joys of travel and discovery that we enjoy today.