可持續發展

男孩衝上雲霄,願望成真

諾謙於2019 年成為國泰航空史上最年輕的機師。10 歲的諾謙勇敢面對急性白血病,現已進入康復階段。醫護人員佩服他的勇氣,希望給他一點鼓勵,於是聯絡致力為患有重病的兒童達成願望的志願機構—香港願望成真基金。未幾,諾謙成功於香港和澳門之間「飛翔」。

成為飛機師是諾謙的願望。他的家中放滿了父親送贈的模型飛機,他在住院期間繪畫的飛機畫作令人讃歎,願望成真基金的職員於是靈機一觸想起國泰航空。公司各部門的團隊亦義不容辭,全力協助這位小朋友完成他的願望。

最初的構思僅為一節模擬飛行體驗,經過悉心安排,諾謙完成願望的大日子搖身一變成為長達兩日的難忘飛行體驗。副飛行訓練經理兼機師馮應聰親自到諾謙位於澳門的家接他前往國泰城,多位國泰的高級經理隨即歡迎諾謙到臨,並送上度身訂造的機師製服。

接下來的兩天行程非常緊密。除了學習航空安全知識外,諾謙亦親自打開機艙門查看緊急逃生滑梯及救生艇是否運作正常,並嘗試使用滅火器撲滅火種。對航機安全有了基本認識後,還要細心聆聽機長的起飛前簡報,才可進入我們的模擬駕駛艙,體驗一飛冲天的滋味。諾謙的任務是從香港國際機場出發前往澳門再折返,整個航程需要起飛兩次和降落三次。

著陸後,諾謙成功過關並取得屬於自己的機師徽章。諾謙更陪同馮機師為一架A350-1000 飛機進行起飛前巡視。最後,他進入真正的駕駛艙作出廣播,祝願乘客旅途愉快,為是次夢寐以求的體驗旅程劃上完滿句號。

來見證諾謙這次的奇妙體驗:

願望終能成真,諾謙形容這次體驗「無懈可擊」。我們衷心希望他長大後能夠成為真正的國泰機師!

Sustainable Development

Wish Comes True for Boy with Sky-High Ambitions

In 2019, Nok-him held the title of ‘Cathay Pacific’s youngest pilot’. At 10 years old he has had to battle his way through leukemia to remission. As reward for his bravery, hospital staff contacted Make-A-Wish Hong Kong, a charity that makes wishes come true for children with critical illnesses. Soon after, he ‘took to the sky’ over Hong Kong and Macao.

Nok-him is fascinated by aviation. His home is filled with model planes gifted from his father. His aircraft artwork, produced during his stays in hospital, wowed local staff and inspired Make-A-Wish to get in touch with Cathay Pacific. Teams across the airline couldn’t wait to be involved.

Initially conceived as a session in one of the airline’s state-of-the-art flight simulators, Nok-him’s Wish Day quickly grew into an unforgettable two-day aviation experience. He was welcomed to Cathay City by senior managers and decked out in a tailor-made pilot’s uniform after Captain Joe Fung, a Deputy Flying Training Manager collected Nok-him from his home in Macau.

Over the next two days Nok-him learned about airline safety, opened aircraft doors to see the emergency slides and life rafts fully deploy, and even extinguished a fire. With safety knowledge acquired, he listened to a pre-flight briefing, before taking to the skies in one Cathay Pacific’s state-of-the-art simulators. Nok-him flew from Hong Kong International Airport to Macao and back, making two take-offs and three landings.

Back on land, and with his wings successfully earned, Nok-him accompanied Captain Joe on a pilot’s pre-flight walk-around of an Airbus A350-1000. He completed his pilot duty with a public announcement from the real cockpit, declaring the successful conclusion of this once-in-a-life-time experience.

Click below to witness this very special moment:

Nok-him described his Wish Day as “Superb!” We look forward to welcoming him onboard again soon as our pilot in future!