可持續發展

飛航運作現已無紙化

電子化駕駛艙既方便又環保

國泰航空營運及航空服務總裁韓兆傑(右)和香港天文台台長岑智明在模擬駕駛艙內展示創新成果

國泰航空的駕駛艙最近廢除使用紙張,改用電子應用程式,減免了數以千噸的碳排放。笨重的操作手冊和文件就此成為歷史。

以往,航班都需靠燃料和紙張運作:飛機需要燃料來提供能源,亦需大量紙張去確保飛機維持在航道上、使用最佳的飛行路線及安全降落目的地。邁向航空運作電子化的時代,國泰航空廢除用紙的需求,亦因而節省了承載紙張會耗掉的燃料。

大家在機場一定都見過機師帶著隨身行李箱急步走過。您可能會懷疑到底這樣能節省多少紙張?答案超乎您想像。

每次飛行所需的文件可重達70公斤

每次飛行所需的操作手冊和文件共重70公斤。機師行李箱內的文件,只佔總數的一小部分。算一下,每日有525班航班,一年有365日:我們每年可節省一千三百四十萬公斤的紙,亦即等如每年節省約一百萬公升的燃料。這樣能減免2500噸碳排放,等同於由香港飛往倫敦3000次的碳排放量!

所有國泰航空及國泰港龍航空的駕駛艙自2019年12月起已完全電子化,全因採用了國泰航空的飛航及天氣電子應用程式「Flight Folder」。這個互動應用程式把以往在紙張上的資訊,包括起飛前的備忘錄、飛航進度報告,以至導航、燃料、天氣等數據全部電子化。所有資訊都會實時更新,並供機師隨時搜尋,讓他們更方便快捷地駕駛飛機。

國泰航空致力令飛航更安全、順暢、環保。採用Flight Folder,只是我們眾多努力的例子之一。我們擁有世上數一數二最具燃油效益的長途客機機隊。我們230架客機當中36架比上一代節能25%的Airbus A350。多年來,我們務求提升燃油效益,使碳排放強度相對1998年減低了28%,累積減排量近乎等於香港兩年的碳排放量!

國泰航空及香港天文台於2019年12月9日主持啟動儀式,慶祝國泰航空及國泰港龍航空的航機全面投入無紙化運作

Sustainable Development

We Now Fly Paperless

Better for the pilots, better for the planet

Chief Operations and Service Delivery Officer of Cathay Pacific Airways, Mr Greg Hughes (right), and Director of the Hong Kong Observatory, Mr Shun were showcasing this innovative technology in a flight simulator

Our cockpits have recently gone paperless, saving thousand tonnes of carbon emissions in the process – all with the help of an app. Bulky manuals and documents are now a weighty thing of the past.

Flights run on fuel and paper – fuel to power the aircraft and reams of paper to keep it on course, plot the best flight path, and land safely at its destination. As we steer to the digital era of flight operation, we eliminate the paper and cut the fuel we burn carrying them.

We’ve all seen pilots striding through the terminal carrying flight cases, so you might reasonably wonder how much paper can be saved? More than you might imagine.

70 kg of paperwork were needed in the cockpit on every flight

Those cases hold just a small percentage of the 70kg of manuals and paperwork needed in the cockpit on every flight. Multiply that by 525 flights a day and 365 days a year and we are saving 13.4 million kilograms of paper weight per year – which equates to more than 1 million litres of aviation fuel every year. It means reducing about 4000 tonnes of carbon emissions, i.e. the emissions of over 5000 trips from Hong Kong to London!

As of December 2019, all Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon cockpits are completely paperless, thanks to the Cathay Pacific digital flight and weather application Flight Folder. The interactive Flight Folder app gives pilots everything they had on paper in digital form – from pre-flight notes and flight progress reports, to navigation, fuel and weather data, and much more. With this app, all the information can be updated in real time and is readily searchable, so pilots can make decisions easier and faster than ever.

The Flight Folder is just one of the many ways we’re making air travel safer, smoother and kinder to the planet. We fly one of the world’s most fuel-efficient, long-haul passenger fleets, which includes 36 Airbus A350s, and they are 25% more fuel efficient than aircrafts from the previous generation. Our investments in efficiency have led to a 28% improvement in carbon intensity since 1998. The accumulative reduction almost equates to two years of Hong Kong’s emissions!

Cathay Pacific and Hong Kong Observatory gathered on 9 December 2019 to officiate the launch.